When In Doubt, Go To Your Happy Place

Oh, where to start, where to start. It’s not a pretty story, so I’ll just mention briefly that all the plumbing in my house has gone on strike. I actually live in a basement apartment so it isn’t hard to grasp the concept of everything that is coming down from upstairs is now either in my bathtub, kitchen/bathroom sink or on the bathroom floor. Enough said.

For added entertainment, Lizzie caught a mouse. Kudos to Lizzie. However, she brought it inside and dropped it so it is now living under one of several pieces of furniture. When I attempted to locate the little fellow with a flashlight I found a healthy supply of treats under the bookcase because I keep peanuts and birdseed nearby and frequently spill a bit of both. I suspect he’ll live off what I haven't vacuumed up for the next several years and we’ll grow old together. I'll do my best to find him and assist him in getting back to his family, but if Lizzie finds him first there's not much I can do. I just don't want to wake up with him, or parts of him, on my pill0w.

To salvage something positive, my blip is my front porch which is a happy place full of happy things. My daughter gave me the metal squirrel this weekend. He’s right at home and I love him. The yellow flowers behind him are “lemon slice” petunias and I love them too.

So, as the day ends with a plumbing crisis and a wayward, but probably very happy, mouse somewhere in the house, I’m going to follow Monty Python’s advice and “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.