Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Barbeque

The day before we left for the field I got an invite with the students to a good ol Ecuadorian style BBQ. Yes please!

Not far from Azogues off the carreterra Patricio's brother has a little country house of sorts overlooking the valley. There were kids running round like yoyo's, soccer balls being kicked hither and thither, the savory smell of grilling meat, horse trot gallop of kumbia music bumping along, and all the warm sunshine you can swallow. Needless to say I loved it. The students too.

At some point it turned into a full fledged water fight....I sort of started it. This whole month is carnival and the proper way to celebrate includes copious amounts of water throwing shenanigans. Catherine and I did a stealth hit and run and before you know it my students are in open rebellion melting us in a deluge. Even the little kids were getting in on it. I was soaked through like a wet dog but grinning all the same.

We didn't leave until after the sunset. Savoring summer time long enough for a second dinner. I was too preoccupied dodging water bombs to risk grabbing my camera to capture the moment but here's a mug shot of the hellions. Stu's kids, Nadine, Gloria's little girl, Pedro, and last but not least Jacob....otherwise known as hell on wheels.

Summer BBQ's in January are delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.