stellarossa

By stellarossa

The Ridge Walk and the Glacier

I awoke very stiff today - our sojourn to the bar yesterday evening had helped my aching legs, but by morning they were complaining with a vengeance. I wasn't the only one, though, as Josh decided to come for a walk with me and Marina up a different ski lift (an enclosed one unlike yesterday's which was a tad scary in itself). We arrived in Toviere at 2650m above sea level with terrific views of the Grand Motte Glacier, snow on the ground (so much for a summer holiday!) and the French Alps opening out around us.

Here Josh looks down at the 600m descent down to the valley and where mountain bikers in full body armour were hurtling themselves down. We heard the rescue helicopter several times hovering around this 'black run'.

The walk along the ridge was stunning until I put my foot down awkwardly and twisted my knee making the last hour something of a hobble for me. By the time we got back to the hotel I could barely walk - a disaster for a walking holiday…. pain killers, gels, straps and alcohol helped a bit, but I did need to top up the alcohol on a very regular basis - medicinally, of course ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.