...wORds bE fEW

By tnahlyn

Happy Valentine's Day....early

My daughter and I were out today. We went to lunch with the preschool crew from back in the late 80's early through the 90's. Our kids all grew up together in the preschool and now they are all adults. Amazing how that happens.

We went to the mall afterward and made an exchange and checked out the sales. Back at the homestead, the hubby was setting his plan into action, little did I know, of course my daughter knew, and that know explains 1/2 an hour to pick out a pair of earrings that she didn't even end up buying.

Just a little history, we remodeled the master bedroom and bathroom about 1 1/2 years ago. There is a big blank wall in front of the bed, big, blank, boring. We talked about pictures or a shelf, but that would stick out We have a good friend that does vinyl wraps for walls and cars. We thought it might be cool to have a saying or scripture across the wall. But we really never came up with anything. We hadn't talked about it in a while, I figured it wasn't gonna happen, our friends are planning on moving and selling the business.

Back to today....

When we got home, my husband was acting sheepishly. You know, when you have known someone for a very long time, and you know they are UP to something...he was UP to something...but what???

He followed me toward the bedroom and stopped me in the hall, he looked into my eyes. "I have something to tell you", he said...."I am not getting you anything for Valentine's Day". O Kaaaaaay?? He hem hawed and said "I had to do it this way". O Kaaaaaay??? He walked right behind me and told me to put my stuff down, then he turned me toward him. Fire caught my eye, and there on that big blank boring wall....

Longer than there've been fishes in the ocean
Higher than any bird ever flew
Longer than there've been stars up in the heavens
I've been in love with you...


That was the perfect saying, lyrics actually from one of 'our songs' that was played at our wedding, 'Longer' by Dan Fogelberg. Tears fell from my eyes as I hugged him and thanked him for a perfect Valentine day gift.

He had spent time working with Jack at this shop on just the right lettering, figuring out just the right lines from the song and finding the wall sconces for the candles. I was very touched. What a romantic guy I have, to do such a sweet thing.
My daughter said, "well, you know what you can blip today".

Absolutely!!!

Happy early Valentine's Day!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.