at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

A pair of perfect heads

When I was pregnant with Ivy, the french teacher in school was trying to explain to me how much she loved baby skulls. I didn't get it at the time, but now I totally do, they just fit so nicely into a hand....

This is Hannah, who is a good few months younger than Ivy though slightly bigger. I think their heads look like a perfectly set here- with Hannah being fair and Ivy dark. I did ALMOST get a picture of Ivy lounging on her back using Hannah as a footrest, but it came up out of focus. Hannah played really well at our house, like she did last time- Ivy did okay, smothering Ayesha in affection (and asking to be read to) but isn't so used to Hannah (who has older siblings) playing a bit roughly and does come across as a bit of a wimp.

Last night Ivy slept in our bed all night, pinching my chin after she woke for the 4th time by 11pm and shouted out for 'mama' which she very rarely does. She got up at 7.10am, so another good morning time. Back to good napping again- 2 hours this morning! I even had time for some yoga, going to try and slot it into my daily morning routine. She did miss Euan today, when he left her with me in the morning to get ready for work she was very upset, and when she heard the door click of him leaving even more so. When she woke up from her afternoon nap, she kept coming up to me and saying 'dada?'. Hilariously though, when he came home she was pretending to be all blase about how much she'd missed him. She's going to be pretty pleased tomorrow when she realisises it's the weeekend and he's not going anywhere.

we had the most amazing dinner (if I say so myself) of a tomato sauce made entirly from allotment produce. Ivy polished off all her star pasta so we gave her some spaghetti as finger food. She has a new skill- she can sook spaghetti, it's hilarious. I'm very proud. I think it's because she has an Italian nona she's picked it up so quickly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.