"Superstition ain't the way"

I'm not superstitious: I don't mind walking under ladders (although I will make sure there's nothing likely to fall on my head) or spilling salt or any of that stuff, although I do like the tradition of touching/knocking wood (which you can read about here).

Tonight, though, as I was getting ready to go out to speak in front of a load of people I made sure that I was wearing the cufflinks that the Minx had made for me, which contain wood from a pair of trees that I love, and also a tie that Hannah gave me when she was small. It has giraffes on it, which were - and remain - her favourite animal.

It wasn't about superstition, though; it was about comfort.

PS The title a lyric from Stevie Wonder's tremendous single, 'Superstition'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.