I made it another year

42 years ago my mum was most likely having a silent conversation to herself that this was DEFINITELY the last time she was putting herself through THAT. Unless those weird hormones kicked in like they did when I had my second where I was all floaty like and deranged for a while and announced in a serene like fog of totally fried brain cells that I intended to go for a whole football team. Luckily, the hormones wore off me pretty soon and I found that no, I did not in fact want to give birth to 9 more kids. At all.

When you get old and complacent and your mojo' temporarily (hopefully temporarily) dips you've really got to put energy into enjoying your birthday to avoid being a right old bottom faced joy sucking fun hater. It was a very close call for me yesterday. But here is something entirely lovely; sam in total awe of a beautiful wee moth with poorly wings we saw in a bat and moth late night out at loch of Strathbeg. He loved it even if his mum should have been sent to the nature naughty corner for chronic lack of enthusiasm.

On route back home, cos we'd been too late to get tea, we swung past McDonalds to get minging stuff to eat. I spent my 42nd birthday meal in a Maccy D's car park at 11pm, regurgitating a stale veggie burger on first bite and being circled by boy racers with euphemistic tiny cars and massive exhausts......in Peterhead. Hahahaha. Memories for years to come.

On the way home a wee badger crossed the road up ahead in front of is, that was a very, very lovely moment. I've left my cards to open them tomorrow, once the regurgitated sweet corn taste has left the building. But you know, the Loch of Strathbeg is a truly lovely place and the sounds of the night were everywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.