Another Day in the Sun

No, I have not jetted off to the Costa del Sol, this blip with the colourful doorway under a azure sky is taken in Costa del Joppa, looking resplendent in continental weather and a mere half hour bus journey from the Dower House.;no need for standing semi naked in airport lines and enduring cramped seating conditions in a tin flying machine; the no 45 bus with spacious seating conveys me for free to the beach.

I was meeting up for coffee with the school friend of my sister-in-law. It is 16 years since we last met at a family wedding and much water has been flowing under our respective bridges since then.
Our shared history goes back over 50 years when she, my sister- in-law and I were all Chemistry undergraduates. I was three years ahead and never suspected that my brother would marry one of the blonde friends.

She and her husband live in the States and have been on holiday in Edinburgh for the last 6 months but are about to return home. We sat in the sun and talked.... and talked......and talked. We walked back to her family house to meet her husband and talked some more. It was wonderful catching up.
Haste ye back Norma!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.