A busy couple of days

I've been busy the last two days. I was hoping groundforce might have been in when I was on holibobs but it didn't happen.

So yesterday I began the mega task of trying to tidy my pond area. I have a theory that if I lay old carpet round the edge the weeds will not grow. This theory of carpet and weeds works cos my mam tested it years ago, but will it work on my weedy area? We will find out. Once the weeds have died down (hopefully before the carpet rots) I intend to invite my real groundforce friends from newcastle to work their magic with decking again! They've done it before so may help me again.

I also had another theory of putting my old bath in this hole and making that the pond but that proved rather difficult too so I'm trying it this way.

The best laugh has been the amount of frogs, big little, brown and yellowy! They kept jumping out of everywhere scaring the living daylights out of me - little devils. The best one of these was when I emptied the watering can down the drain, it was running slow then this tiny little head appeared out the end! I didn't pour it down the drain I was taking it back to where it came from but it squeezed and pushed and jumped out - just hope the cats don't find it because frogs do squeal dreadfully when they are toys for cats.

The peice of wood is so that frogs can climb out of the bottom of the pond when no water in. It's just too high for them to jump but it was funny watching as they jumped for life then slid back down into the little pool in the bottom! I left two in there last night but both had gone this morning so frog escape is working and hopefully if anything else finds itself in there.

A busy couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.