Waving Goodbye

Farewell to the North Island.

It is not possible to fly from Gisborne to Nelson on Sunday evening, so after Nan's birthday party yesterday we had to stay overnight in Gisborne. The first flight out today was at 12.30 which meant we got to stay for morning tea with Nan at her resthome. Another great family get-together.

The 24 hours in Gisborne has been great - reconnecting with some family members and meeting others. It's been a lot of years since I made it to Gisborne so I hadn't met any of my cousins children on Dad's side of the family. It feels great to have made contact with those who were there - but I still must get up and meet the many others who couldn't make it this weekend.

I took lots of family photos this morning, but once again I don't like to blip them without their permission - and how do you choose any one group anyway? So today's blip is a photo as we flew off the end of the north island. I couldn't get a decent one as we came across the south island - too much cloud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.