Simply Me

By Suze981

Confessions

I have a confession to make. After my run on Sunday, I reported that I had no blisters. And I didn't immediately post-run. But later that night, they had developed.

I did what I normally do in that situation, I sterilised a needle and popped them. All seemed to go well. Until Monday night, I awoke with ridiculous pain in my right foot, it was red and swollen. I appeared to have an infected blister. Marvellous. I treated with antiseptic spray and took ibuprofen for the inflammation.

I skipped my run on Tuesday. But I noticed that the blister seemed to be below the surface of the skin. The skin is flat and smooth, but you can see a kind of crevice underneath and its still sore to touch. I was due to go for another run tonight, but I had some discomfort walking home so I think I should leave it again.

It would appear that in my enthusiasm to get running again, I *may* have overdone it. Sure I felt good, but what I've learned is that my feet are going to take longer than expected to get used to the inserts.

Like I said, this is a confession. My friends Nanisa and Debs now have every right to say 'I told you so', they warned me about overdoing it. But would I listen? Of course not. Lesson learned the hard way.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.