Fairlie Landscape

I shot this with my work tablet today not so good for landscapes really Samsung Galaxy s3. I had to travel to Fairlie to do some leakdetection for another contractor this morning a beautiful cold morning crystal clear skies and snow on the mountains and yes it was very cold, I am sure it is supposed to be spring. The primary school had a little bit of high water usage and suspected they had a leak,so I came to the rescue and when I did a flow reading I said to the caretaker it may be difficult as the leak was less than 1 litre per minute which is not a high flow but volume wise is a lot over 24 hours and worse still they are paying for the lost water. I could not find the leak through the ground with the listening gear, the contractor and caretaker were keen to see how the listening gear worked so I gave them a demonstration by putting the ground mic on an exposed pipe going into a toilet block and low and behold there was a leak and a goody somewhere. The reading on the meter was the equivalent to a leaking tap washer or an overflowing toilet cistern. The result was they had some leaks in the boiler system supplying the radiators and one of the toilet cisterns was over flowing and on the way out I found the big leak that was causing concern. A hose tap set up for irrigation was leaking profusely and it was tucked nicely into a drain and covered up,so really pleased to say thats another one that has not beaten me. I can get about 90-95% of the water leaks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.