Another deserted pub

Dan is at that age whereby it seems that he can grow out of clothes simply by putting them on. His ankles, for example, hang from his jeans like bell clappers and today I decided to do something about it.

Abi had a birthday party that she was going to with her mum, so that left Dan and I to travel down to Preston, which is where our nearest Gap outlet is situated. It was, sadly, a disappointing experience; there were no jeans in the colour Dan wanted - i.e. black - and I couldn't even buy myself a consolation present because there was nothing I fancied. (This is an increasing problem: Gap clothes fit me best but they're selling fewer and fewer items that I like.)

Beaten, we wandered outside and bumped onto the Minx and daughter, whom we were planning to meet for coffee/hot chocolate. I recounted the #Gapfail as we went into the enormous Tesco, which, happily, is equipped with a Costa. However, it was in this superstore that we found Dan some black jeans that he liked. And only £7*.

After we'd completed our purchases** and had our drinks, we bade farewell to the girls and set off home, allowing the satnav to guide us. It didn't take us the way I expected - which always makes me happy - but took us past this derelict building. Judging by the car park and nasty, tacked-on extension around the back, I think it must have been a pub at some point. But it was gorgeous from the front and I thought how amazing it would be to be able to afford to buy it and do it up! Although, also, how inconvenient it would be to live in Preston.

*It makes me uneasy when things are this cheap; someone, somewhere is not getting paid a fair wage.
**I bought some candles. Not expensive but reassuringly uncheap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.