Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Not your colour, Arch!

Took a flurry this morning and did some dusting and hoovering before I came to my senses. The full length mirror in the bedroom does get a lot of nose smudges (Archie's - not human) because he still can't figure it out. He will sit and stare at himself for ages, not up close, but as far back as he can. I often forget he's there. Wait till he sees the 'new dog' in the mirror on Saturday, post groomer's!

He still has an occasional wee throaty wheeze, though he hasn't coughed at home. I decided not to take him for a big run around, but instead we did some work on walking nicely on the lead (him, not me). We walked round the pavements, and he was pretty good - no tugging - and if he got ahead, I changed direction. This way you travel miles but get nowhere. But the Meadows was not our destination anyway.

We even tried it on the Links, where there were no dogs in view. I took pity on him and let him off for a wee run. He found this wig, and ran off with it. Then he found a whole pile of some sort of unidentified discarded food. Oops. Back on the lead sharpish.

There were a few ladies doing training with their babies in buggies. I asked them if the wig was theirs. It wasn't. We left it on the fence.

On the way back we spied Brodie across the road. Archie went mad - straining and barking and yelping. Don't know why -Brodie would have just snapped at him anyway. We turned and went the other way - though I did shout to Brodie's owner to explain we were on a training walk (and not just avoiding Brodie because he's not nice to Archie.)

Archie went mad charging around scattering rugs when we came home. This was NOT the sort of walk he likes! Too bad, Arch.

I rang the groomer and explained about the kennel cough which seems to be better, or will be by Saturday. He says it's not a problem - it's more contagious before the coughing starts. And his dogs are inoculated against it. But he appreciated my checking up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.