What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

To Return Home

I have been away to Gloucestershire for a few days.

This is the butchers shop at Holmes Chapel. Happily for me they had a good stock of a delicacy from my childhood that I still relish.

This is the Staffordshire Oatcake. I recall them being the size of a dinner plate (these seem to have shrunk a bit with the passage of time) They are particularly associated with the area of the North Potteries, Buxton, Congleton and Macclesfield.

Quite unlike the Scottish oatcake which is crisp, these have more of a texture of soggy blanket.

They are delicious and can be served with sweet or savoury inclusions.

I am happy to say that the taking of this shot caused a certain amount of hilarity with the other customers urging the butcher to charge me more for the taking of his picture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.