Vernon's dahlias

Last year I posted a blip of Vernon's sweet peas. Since then Vernon, who is in his 80s has gone downhill and is now quite poorly and hasn't been down to the allotment this year. His wife, who is not that young either, has taken on the task of trying to keep all their plots in order.

His dahlia tubers were left in the ground over last winter, which fortunately was mild, so there was not really any damange and they were able to give a good display this year which has gone on and on. I wonder what will happen in the future? I wonder if Vernon will ever see his plot again? If not this and the other blip are a tribute to his gardening skills.

On our own plot I planted 4 rows of garlic and 2 rows of broadbeans ready for next year and hoed up all the beds. Looking good for winter.

Earlier I'd been baking and cooking in preparation for Al and Liz coming tomorrow - a courgette cake and pumpkin soup. So everything is ready apart from the desert which I'll put together in the morning along with a few scones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.