Simply Me

By Suze981

Progress

Today the world is a little brighter. Well perhaps not the world, but my world.

I awoke with purpose determined to do some work in the flat myself. Now I am not so handy at home improvements as my folks, but I do like to try and do a wee bit. So today I fixed curtain-gate (see pictured my new living room curtains), made Wesley a comfy place to sit (curtain-gate also involved throwing away a mangled cat tree) and fit a new toilet seat in the bathroom (to match the new decor).

I then went for a run. And now I have to confess something - I am in love with my orthotics. I never thought I'd say it, but there we are. They might just be the best thing I've ever done, running and walking wise.

On Friday I was naughty and didn't wear my orthotics. It was stupid and I paid the price for it - my legs were wrecked - painfully sore and tired. It was only when I walked with my orthotics in again that I realised that sore and tired was how my legs felt all of the time before - and what's worse, how I thought that was normal. It took feeling like that again to realise what a difference the orthotics have made to my life.

Now, fast-forward to today. I'm getting more used to running in them. Sure, they still rub so I can still only do short distances, and my stamina needs to be rebuilt after 5 months of no proper running, but I felt good. My legs have felt good running before, but today my feet felt springy. I honestly think I'm running better than I ever have - even if it is just for 2 miles at a time!

This feels like progress. This makes me happy.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.