madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Through the arched window...

I never tire of looking at the viaduct as it straddles Devon and Cornwall over the River Tamar. Nor do I tire of exclaiming "Look! Train!" as it's electric engines whirr and it gives it's trombonist "Per-Per" on its approach, it knows how much of a pretty view it makes as it slides its way over the bridge - the whole scene is like a childs toy train set. The driver also knows us villagers better than to trust us not to be on the track! I love the fact you are instructed to wave at it when you are on the station to make it stop and pick you up! Very Railway Children!
One christmas, when it was heavy snow and my car got stuck to the road by the snow and ice and travel anywhere was a nightmare if not impossible, I was going to walk over it with friends - unfortunately Great Western had planned rail works and were working on the bridge on Christmas Day!It's still on my list of things to do!
The viaduct was the first to be built using concrete blocks, and in 2007 it was a hundred years old! We dressed in Edwardian clothing, had a trip up and down the river on the ferry, and then got off on the Devon side by the dairy farm and picnicked under its impressive frame. The Rubber Band Orchestra played music and sang! We all got gently sozzled!
Today I was walking my neighbours portly dog Lucy, her usual walker being away. She is so sweet natured and very patient as I stop repeatedly to take photographs. Think she likes the rest as she is like a small barrel on 4 tiny legs! The morning mist was traversing its way down the Tamar towards Plymouth and the sea. I often feel as if I am living in Brigadoon - the fog hides Calstock in its valley whilst the surroundings areas enjoy the sunshine! Certain neither Gene Kelly nor Fred Astaire performed in the Arts Chapel though!
Strange - today it's all references to old films! Must be Nostalgic Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.