madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Pop up!

Took Lucy the portly dog down the village today. The idea was to take the bridge as it appeared between the buildings on the way down. Took a long time to get down the hill! Once there saw the Calstock Muscovy ducks, have been told a couple of stories by people claiming to have introduced them to Calstock - but this has been at parties and the teller was usually intoxicated and could have been making it up!!
Went to the local shop for bread and milk - there is one shop in Calstock for all your food and household bits and pieces, plus a dressmaking shop "Make New and Mend", two pubs and an Art Gallery. I think that satisfies just about everyone's basic needs! The dressmakers certainly satisfies my love of clothes, I popped in with Lucy who patiently sat on the mat whilst I bought a dress! However today there was one more - a Christmas pop up shop in someones house!! The woman,who previously had the plot opposite me on the allotment, makes gorgeous glass items and did the same last year - but has been joined by one of my fellow chicken coop members who has made paper wreaths!
One of the reasons I wanted to live in a village was for that sense of community - for too long I had lived anonymously in Cities. Calstock has fulfilled this desire. I met one guy at a party ( possibly the same one who told me about drunkenly bundling the ducks in his car and releasing them in the village late one night as the owner had got fed up of them pooping in his garden!) who told me he had a mission when he moved to Calstock - he termed it FFIC - Find Friends In Calstock! He did and then felt suffocated and moved out!! I can appreciate this but have not got there yet - but can see myself moving out to a remote house with land at some point!!
so, on the way up the hill bumped into various people - one of whom runs the Arts Chapel - apparently Neil Innes carried on through the fireworks , at first good humouredly but gradually less so until the final crescendo of fireworks at the end forced him to stop for a few minutes!
Anyway - I have visitors so must get back to them!!!
Link to Lucy's walk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.