Force Falls Fish Pass

Today's the day ...................... not to see fish

Took myself off to see if there were any salmon leaping at the Force Falls Fish Pass near Sedgwick.

I couldn't see any - but maybe I was too late in the day - or in the season perhaps? It made me think that actually I have never seen any fish leaping up the Fish Pass. That's it on the left side of the river as you look upstream - the bit with walls to make it easier for the fish to jump.

I have, on the other hand, seen quite a few throwing themselves desperately up the fast-flowing water, cascading over the waterfall over on the right. It could be that they think there's more of a chance that they'll make it over there - because the other thing that I've seen more than once - is a heron, perfectly poised at the side of the Pass, waiting for something tasty to come his way.

Whichever way you look at it - it's a hard life being a salmon ....................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.