madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Chasser les cygnes!

This is so not what I went out to catch! As usual!
I went for a midday stroll to take a tree that got pipped to the blip by the viaduct the other day. I was doing really well till I saw a long puddle and took ages capturing the trees reflection in it. Then I got caught by the reflection in the boatyard hangers windows. By this time I had stopped and chatted 3 times to friends and sat on the bench to have a drink and a nibble! One chat was about the satisfaction to be had from 1.1 teaching with a woman who is supporting a girl through an Art course, the other with the local ferryman about finding a rhythm to life with the changing seasons, he had left it too late to put further work plans in place once the ferry season was over! He takes visitors to Cotehele from Calstock. It was during the course of the third chat with a local gardener who tends the garden that runs along the river ( how envious I am of them!),as we discussed cancer treatments and the growing support for the use of cannabis oil, that I spotted the swans.
The swans have been in Calstock for about 4 years, looking after their young in a nest at Cotehele and patrolling the river to Calstock. A major chase ensued, as I tried to photograph them as they made their stately way into Calstock. At some points when I got close to the river I could actually hear and see their powerful legs propelling them though the water - I had thought they were simply floating up river!
Once I had finished photographing them as they ate the grass next to the village green it was a quick chat and purchase of a vintage style shirt to go with the 1920's 3/4 length velvet trousers I bought in the Plymouth Vintage Shop in the 14/10 blip! Then a chat in The Limekiln Gallery and purchase of a tiny cup and saucer for the espresso from my George Clooney that I intended to have when I got home! After cleaning Milly and Tilly's coop and putting out the rubbish and recycling!!!
Will this retired life ever slow down? I hope not!!!! But a little rain so I can do more things in the house might be beneficial!! Although I really need to dig over the allotment before we get frosts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.