Kit for the hills

Well, it's some kit for my trip to the hills tomorrow.

Most of the gear I'll take is in these weather proof bags. The 2 blue stuff sacks have my wet weather gear - over trousers and mountain jacket. The forecast is good but it's crazy to head off without this level of protection.

The red stuff sack has my first aid and the orange stuff sacks have warm clothes - a small one with warm hat and gloves, another with an extra warm top and long johns.

Other than that there is my compass, always handy if things get difficult (and yes, we have a GPS too). The small bottle is Cramp Ease. I rarely use it but in warmer weather it's good to have, just in case cramp hits - me or someone else. And spare boot laces are the other thing.

Then there is a 2L bladder of water, morning 'play lunch', lunch, some extra snacks and a few other bits and bobs.

It will be a long day and a good test of how well the changed mechanics of my feet post-break, are helped by the adjustments to my orthotics.

It will be good to get into the high country :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.