wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Sunday isn't always a lazy day.

This is one of the birdhouses hanging from the hydrangea in the front yard. I am amazed at the amount of blips that tree has yielded. Every season it comes through in a pinch.
I love that tree. It was a 40th birthday gift from my sisters Laurie and Dianne. I wanted one. They listened and bought me one. When someone listens to what you want and does it, it is amazingly validating. I had gone away that weekend and returned that Sunday to Laurie's house to see the driveway decorated by my nieces and nephews with chalk wishing me a happy birthday. It still is so the most wonderful
gift I have seen. ( I do think the word queen was mentioned. ) They kept the cars off of it so I could see the artwork. I choked up. There is a picture somewhere. I will have to put it in my blipfolio. I opted to plant the tree it at my Mom and Dad's house. Seventeen years later, I enjoy it every day.
I wonder at how many times I didn't do that. You know buying someone what I wanted or thought they should have rather then what they wanted or even needed.
This was realized one day when a friend was planning a birthday party for her daughter and mentioned to me that her daughter was going to be so angry. She didn't want a party but my friend wanted to give her one. I looked at her and asked why she was going to give her daughter a present that she doesn't want or like. Who was this party for?
The realization hit her slowly. She looked at me and thanked me. It was an epiphany for both of us.
From that day I have made an effort to live by that rule.
The tree is a a reminder of that.
My first birthday spent with my husband was like that also. I wanted a frying pan and a track suit. I got them and started running that day..........and stopped the next. What the heck was I thinking? ( if I had a fitbit, it would have been a different story). However I looked great in it. Seriously like anything else mattered?

So off I go to bed as tomorrow is jeans day at work. I love jeans day. We have another one Wednesday. Yay!

So pleasant dreams to the north as breakfast is served down under.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.