Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No! Archie!

On my dog walk this morning I found a rather nice black shelving unit, which was just about carry-able home, with frequent stops, which suited Archie too - he loves stops. I have a plan for it, which might be too silly to put into action. But it's safely dismantled and stored in my wood shed.

The wood shed is a hazard. An unsuspecting small thief, say, would be crushed by the big heavy pallet which falls out when the doors are opened. I'm always ready for it, so no damage done.

We had a couple of friends over for lunch, minus offspring, so that a) Archie wasn't stressed and b) the mums could relax and catch up with all the gossip. We used to work together when I first came back to Edinburgh (15 years ago!), but lives are so busy that catching up all at once is hard to organise. It was lovely to see them both. A delicious lunch with my favourite - calfoutis for pudding! And yes, there's a wee bit left...

Suitable new lights were not found yesterday, so the non working ones that took me ages to put up, remain. Our visitors were too polite to mention that every second festive light on the dresser wasn't working, which isn't as bad as random ones not working, I feel. It looks intentional. Could start a new trend.

K has a new dog, a lurcher rescue dog. I do admire people who take in these dogs and give them another chance, but it does sound like he's a bit of a handful - eg although they think he's about two years old, he wasn't house trained - probably had never been in a house. In fact, he has so many other issues and they've got a dog trainer involved. She was very impressed with sensible Archie (she didn't see this naughty checking-out-the-nibbles-on-the-coffee-table behaviour)...

I'm afraid we did discuss tomorrow's operation with Archie in the room, but I'm sure he was asleep at the time...

Though he was twitching a bit...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.