madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

What a day

What can I say about this day? For once I shall start at the end - friend is in hospital, out of pain, relaxed, cared for, taking on IV fluids.

Went up this am knowing a decision had to be made and that unless friend drank she would have to go in. I had warned her the previous day that this was the situation.Contacted another friend to meet me who is a nurse, now Health Visitor, who knows a cancer nurse and was contacting her for advice. The answer was get her in now!
So 999 it was and Paramedic came and by then friend was racked in pain - morphine given and the pain eased and the world at last became fluffy to her. As there had been a major incident no ambulances available so he stayed for the next 2 hours and we discussed pointless paperwork amongst other things!
Ambulance arrived and I showed them how to get up the back lane - whereupon I had to take a photo as was such a contrast to the view down there the previous morning. Friend went in ambulance as she had no petrol in car and I became the ambulance chaser - but they went the Tamar Bridge way being plymothian and not liking the country roads route whilst i went cross country! Actually walked into them as they came out the corridor from the ambulance bay just as I was walking down the foyer!!
By 4 o clock, with another chicken coop member called upon to do my closing, me and Health Visitor put more money on the car parking and went for food as she was about to eat her own leg in hunger and was getting the sweats! She being vegan and the choice being liver and bacon or sausages we both had a plate of chips with full condiments - they were easily the worst, dried out excuses for chips I had ever eaten!!! But the view out of the window was inspiring!!!
We checked once more on friend and told her not to give a poo sample so she could stay in her secluded room! We had to gown and glove up when going in - we thought to prevent her picking up infection, but it was to stop us bringing any out to others on ward if her poo was showing infection! Kept my gloves as they are always handy!!Not much chance of her giving a poo or urine sample given her lack of intake!
So finally home - gave friend my spare can of petrol for her to get to work or at least a garage in the morning, and I collected a few things from friends house, food to tempt her, phone charger, deodorant, and tidied up and made sure fish were fed! My neighbour knocked on my door and gave me soup for supper as she had seen the ambulance in the morning and guessed who it was for and where I had been all day.

P.S Found out my doing a nude calendar had been discussed in the ambulance and I now have one of the mens numbers as he volunteered!!!Health visitor friend explained he was gay and just split with partner -so maybe he felt this would empower him? She also said she knew he was gay as his eyelashes were so extraordinary and any guy who took that much care over his appearance had to be gay!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.