madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Hmmm

Not one of my better days. Stupidly fell asleep on sofa in kitchen at midnight - and upon waking pottered in kitchen and on laptop until 5.30 when I went to bed! Woke at 11 feeling heady and sprang out of bed to release Milly and Tilly. Took pain killers and waited for them to kick in and texted friend to see how she was and what she needed.
Finally got going at 3 and as I drove across the moors everything just welled up inside me and I just wanted to cry. Told myself sternly not to as would make eye liner smudge and I would get panda eyes and my friend didn't need evidence of my tears. Decided music was in order - oh dear - The Smiths not a good idea nor REM - love both Morrissey and Michael Stipe but neither are the happiest of bunnies!
The rosy hues of the fading of the day over the moors which on any other occasion would have been simply beautiful, just compounded my sadness and I realised I had not felt this particular type of low since my grief over the loss of both my parents over the last 4 years. The reality of my friends long term prognosis loomed large and I could not keep it at bay as I had been doing.
Once with my friend I rallied as she was looking so much better. Unfortunatly the overwhelming heat of the hospital and the pent up emotion combined to create a headache of familiar awfulness and to my horror realised I had left painkillers at home. The hospital shops don't sell drugs to anyone but hospital staff. I did suggest friend feigned pain to get tablets I could then take - but realised this was entirely wrong as what if she needed some later?! Thankfully remembered I had packed all her drugs and brought them to hospital, as from experiences my pupils parents had had, I knew they often didn't have the medication required and parents often had to return home to get their own supplies! So 2 tablets and an hour later the headache began to retreat into its lair.
On the way home listened to Florence & The Machine Shake It Out - her high notes at the end always send literal shivers down my body.
So I have shaken the devil off my back and will have something to eat and go to bed!

Blip is of the glorious light of one of the hospital carparks- I was of course not parked here but in the darkest, furthest car park! Apt!! Next time I shall head straight for the light!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.