bucks life

By bucksmiss

Clearing out begins

Work really was manic and I had a productive morning, including a useful conference call on one of our Christmas deadline matters. I managed to leave at 2pm, only an hour and a half after I should have. Eh well. You win some you lose some.

I had a relaxed afternoon after that in Market Harborough and picked up some groceries for the pudding I am making for C's welcome home dinner at Chacombe on Friday evening. (He's back with us for precisely one day and two nights while on a business trip from Aus!)

It's a pear and ginger fool with cashew cream(!) This is a new recipe for me, from a HFW book which is both dairy and wheat free so P, who's on dairy free, can have it too. Hope it turns out well!

After my very useful head shrink session, I found a slightly better route home, which I shall be taking again - only 45 minutes rather then 55.

L made a great start on decorating the spare room last night and my blip is of the current work in progress. I wasn't immediately sold on my choice of colour for the paint, though it's growing on me and looks nice in the picture. I have been told in no uncertain terms that it's too late to change my mind! He's right of course.

I've spent the evening being ruthless and binning or recycling old novels, packaging, CDs, wool, files and other stuff lurking in the blanket chest and drawers in my sitting room and in my study. It feels great to clear out. It has to be done both for the decorating but also to accommodate the Australian branch of the family when they descend on me on 19th December, all five of them!

I even worked up a sweat as there was so much to prise out of dark corners. I was delighted to unearth an old cassette tape of an 'Album' made by some sixth form school friends in 1985 and have posted it on Facebook in case the guy who made it wants it. It turns out another old friend has also kept a copy. Seems I'm not the only nostalgic one!

There's plenty more to do tomorrow and at the weekend but the bin men will be kept busy on Friday. Tomorrow's going to be even more manic at work. Bring it on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.