Simply Me

By Suze981

I didn't tell you

It's not good news I'm afraid. I overdid it. Yes I know, you told me so.

The weekend before I started the Marcothon, I had terrible lower back pain. No I didn't tell you, yes I ignored it because I wanted to run. Running seemed to help, my back eased and it was ok.

5 days of the Marcothon went well. On day 6 the back pain returned. No I didn't tell you, yes I carried on. Day 7 was horrendous. My back was in a lot of pain and my 5k was a slow death-shuffle of a run. No I didn't tell you. I didn't want to be a quitter and I thought it'd ease up if I ran.

Today I could barely walk. I messaged my friend and he gave me the details of his osteopath (thank you).

The osteopath is not my friend. She thinks I'm stupid. I am. My slight scoliosis, twisted pelvis and high arched spine in conjunction with the years of abuse from my hypermobility have not done me any favours. The result - I'm a wreck. I have enflamed spinal joints which is only one step short of a disc problem. I have to be careful.

I have withdrawn from the Marcothon (obviously). I am sat on a high backed chair (not allowed to even sit on a couch), I'm not allowed to exercise for at least a week, I can't even walk the 1.5 miles to work. Mum picked me up from work today and brought me the chair (thank you).

I have chocolate and mum is making my tea. I'm back at the osteopath on Thursday and I'll be grand again in no time having escaped permanent disc damage. Hurrah. I'm sorry I didn't tell you.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.