Simply Me

By Suze981

By candlelight

Tonight I went to the Night & Day Concert at Greyfriars Kirk in Edinburgh. This is the Scottish Ensemble's celebration of the coming of Chistmas - a String's Orchestra by Candlelight.

Stringed instruments are by far my favourite - in fact many years ago I used to play the violin. I dread to think what it'd sound like if I played today - I now love going to hear them instead.

Tonight we heard:

Mozart - Eine kleine Nachtmusik,
Chopin - Two Nocturnes,
Steve Martland - Eternity's Sunrise, and
Borodin - Sinfonia for Strings.

There were 2 pieces that I particularly enjoyed. I loved Chopin's Op. 55 No. 1 in F Minor - arranged by David Matthews for strings especially for this concert. The way the melody seamlessly passed from first to second violin and back again was sublime!

I also really enjoyed the solos in Borodin's Notturno: Andante - the cello was especially beautiful. This may now be my second favourite stringed instrument. But I also have to mention hoe deliciously macabre Borodin's Finale: Andante - Vivace was.

Overall a wonderful evening. A tad cold when I stepped outside the Kirk though!

Marcothon day 7 - 3 miles done
Running total - 23 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.