No Static

By nostatic

#6 Dissed and Dismissed - Tony Molina

Album: Dissed and Dismissed
Artist: Tony Molina

One line synopsis: A mosaic of miniature lo-fi college rock gems

Best Track: The album is so short you should listen to the lot

---------------------------------

The shortest album I've ever featured on my end of year list. This one falls into the nostalgia bracket and provides the perfect 11 minute journey back to the pre-grunge college rock days. I don't really pay much attention to the track titles, thinking of them more like the way episodes of Friends are named (a show I despise, I should hasten to add) - the one that's like every Raymond McGinley Teenage Fanclub song distilled into 1 minute 30 seconds; the one that's like a long lost Lou Barlow 4 track demo; the one that has the Dinosaur Jr guitar squall; the one that starts off like early Green Day, but is good (no honestly). If you like your fuzz and overdrive pedals this one is for you.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them, feel free to tell me what I've missed
* full countdown tagged nstop102014
* click through to see last year's top 10 and click through again for the year before that

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.