No Static

By nostatic

#7 More Than Any Other Day - Ought

Album: More Than Any Other Day
Artist: Ought

One line synopsis: Jittery, shouty post-punk, designed to make you dance, riot and shout along to.

Best Track: Today, More Than Any Other Day

---------------------------------

I'd read reviews of this album ages ago and then only started to take notice again when end of year charts started to crop up, the first thing I stumbled across was this video and realised how great their sound is - full of swirling guitars whilst the lead singer does his best Malkmus/E Smith yelp over the top, before pulling some genius Cocker-like shapes. So I rushed out and bought the album and found myself hooked from the moment the first song kicks in sounding like a drunked Franz Ferdinand, played at the wrong speed whilst falling down a flight of stairs. The album grows more and more ragged, before calming down into quieter introspection. Given a bit more time in my collection I suspect this would have featured higher up this list.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them, feel free to tell me what I've missed
* full countdown tagged nstop102014
* click through to see last year's top 10 and click through again for the year before that

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.