No Static

By nostatic

#4 Manipulator - Ty Segall

Album: Manipulator
Artist: Ty Segall

One line synopsis: Fuzzy, verse-chorus-versus proto-grunge that's so 1990's every copy should come with a free global hypercolour t-shirt

Best Track: Feel

---------------------------------

Music doesn't always have to be complicated, sometimes you just need the thrilling rush of guitars set to overdrive, a bit of squalling feedback and a chugging relentless rhythm section. For the most part this is what Ty Segall delivers, there's a bit of a 60's influence in there as well - in the same way that Brian Jonestown Massacre and Dandy Warhols (neither of whom I'm much of a fan of) will rip off the Stones, Ty Segall will rip off the more psychedelic end of The Beatles. This album has been a welcome breath of fresh air amongst my preferred listening these days and is probably one of my most played of the year, provoking some furious bouts of table drumming and air guitaring.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them, feel free to tell me what I've missed
* full countdown tagged nstop102014
* click through to see last year's top 10 and click through again for the year before that

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.