My Life With Luna

By chrisA

Murmuration of Starlings

After my brother and I had raked up four builders sacks full of leaves and delivered them to the waste site in Stowmarket this morning, and I still have the same again to do, I took the afternoon off and went to Lackford Lakes, a Suffolk Wildlife Trust Reserve near Bury St Edmunds. I was hoping to see the Kingfishers but the lakes that they frequent were frozen over, they had been sighted on the reserve but I didn't see them. As I arrived, a volunteer at the site told me that the starlings would be gathering around 3.30 for their nightly roost, so after a lovely walk in the frosty air I went back to where he said would be a good place to see them.
They didn't disappoint and kept me and a dozen other people enthralled for a good twenty minutes dipping and diving with more and more joining in. I was amazed when part of the group just dropped out of the sky to roost in the trees and this was repeated until the all the birds are down.
You can see more detail in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.