Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Charlie?

At some point I will back blip yesterday's uninspiring blip but I wanted to share today's with you before I have to go out.

This, I think, will be Charlie. I'm not 100% set on the name, it may get changed as I learn more about him and his temprement. I say him, it's actually an "it" at the moment. I have to wait 6 months before he's old enough to safely be probed to find out if it's a girl or a boy but for the sake of argument "it" will be referred to as he.

He's 4 months old, he's a little small for his age as he didn't feed when he first hatched and eventually they had to assist feed to get him eating. He's a royal python. In some parts of the world they are known as ball pythons as they curl up in to a tight ball when attacked. He'll grow to about 3.5 foot unless he's a girl and then he'll reach about 5 foot. They are lovely and docile, the cats of the snake world and will happily curl up on you for many an hour.

I sat in the shop, patiently listening to all the care instructions, learning about his vivarium etc whilst all the while, I really wanted to see him and be holding him. When they brought him out, I was amazed at both how tiny but also how beautiful he is. Having played with him at home with my friend and her partner who knows a thing or two about snakes, we're 99% sure that's instead of being normal patterning he's actually a yellow belly morph as he has patterns underneath that normals wouldn't have.

I love him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.