Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Cruising in the Bay.

This morning we took a wee cruise out in the bay which was beautiful, we were right up at the front so the views were amazing (we managed to resist doing a Jack and Rose from Titanic, but probably only because there were so many other people around who'd have wanted a go too...)

Freshly freezing from the boat we popped into Boudin's Bakery at the wharf afterwards and had a very hearty bowl of clam chowder in a sourdough roll. Yum!

We'd bought a Muni pass earlier so that we can ride around on all the buses and trolleys all week, so we took the F line up to the Castro and had a good wander around, its so pretty there. It was great to get out of the city centre and look at all the gorgeous houses.
Ohhhhhhh...I could live here! Though possibly not in the Castro, lovely as it is I don't see myself finding the man of my dreams there...well, I might, but he'd also be looking for the man of his dreams so it might not work out!

From here we found our way to Haight St and walked up to the Haight Ashbury. I know it's not like it was in the 60's blah blah blah..., but its still very colourful indeed. I just loved taking photos of all the wonderful shop fronts and interesting folks :O)
I very nearly used one of these for my blip today, it was a real wrench between the pretty bay and kooky kitsch!

We had dinner in a Sushi place that's right next door to our hotel (which is in Nob Hill on Bush St - is it just me who finds this hugely amusing?!). Its called Sushi Toni and was just fab. Toni apparently used to be chef for Michael Cain in his restaurant in London in the 90's (first I'd heard of MC having a restaurant!) and it was incredibly tasty, such a lovely wee place. Toni seems to be doing very well for himself.

Even better because it's so close to our hotel it wasn't far to take our aching blistered feet and sunburned self's to plot tomorrows activities :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.