ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Church at a Cross-Roads

This is the building of the church where I worship: The City of Edinburgh Methodist Church. Infront of it is a cross-roads.

As a congregation in Edinburgh we have some important decisions to make in the coming weeks and months. Tonight - inside the building - we were working through some of these things. There is a long way to go, and the way is far from clear. The issues that need to be addressed are deep, but their urgency is increasingly pressing.

I feel equally blessed and challenged to be in this place, and at this time. I feel inadequately wise to make a difference. But I trust our communal calling. I constantly stuggle to entertain the size of God's vision. This evening I was again challenged to widen further my perception of our calling as the church in Edinburgh.

But I was also left to marvell at God's faithfulness: To persevere in expanding our horizons- Degree by painful degree. We as a Church are an example of God's manifold Grace. Not through what we have achieved in His name, but because God continues to bless us despite what we have failed to achieve.

As I drove home, my stereo played an old song by Alanis Morrisette. The lyrics summed up how I feel about church:


I'm tired but I'm working
I'm here but I'm really gone
I'm sick but I'm pretty
I'm sane but I'm overwhelmed

What it all comes down to
Is that I haven't got it all figured out just yet

I'm wrong and I'm sorry
I'm lost but I'm hopeful
I'm broke but I'm happy

And what it all boils down to
Is that no one's really got it figured out just yet


We just have to step out in faith. But which way at the crossroads?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.