ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

All change

Adele, a colleague at work, picked up her new car today. It's a Vauxhall Astra SRI: a proper girl-racer's car! What's more it's replacing on only just a year or so old, which makes my 9-year-old Peugeot feel a bit sorry for itself :(

It doesn't seem likely that I'll replace it in the next year or so, though. The wee diesel 206 goes well, is reasonably reliable, and pretty economical. Although I could probably justify something new based upon how long I spend in it these days, there are other things that need money put to them first.

Still it doesn't stop the people at the garage who do my servicing (McLennans, who thoroughly deserve a plug - best garage in and around Edinburgh by a mile!) telling me every time I go there: "I hope you'll be bringing me a different car next time..."

There will be a lot of miles on the clock this year, now I'm coming up to a year of the Glasgow - Edinburgh commute (though not every day). Today I went from home to Blantyre, then Blamore, on to Dunfirmline, and back to home (with a short train excursion into central Glasgow to boot!). Hopefully tomorrow I'll be able to leave the car at home, and get on the bike to work again. I'm only needed in one office.

Weekend this time tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.