ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Reliving the future

I Graduated with my MA degree from the University of Cambridge at the weekend, so have an awful lot of images to choose from. But this one gets the nod.

I like these "posing for someone, but not me" shots. Somehow they tend to look more natural. So almost three years after leaving Cambridge, meet Josh, Rosie, Tim, Leila, and Eva.

It was opportunistic, so a bit over-exposed. But that adds to the nostalgia of the occasion (A Cambridge MA degree is little more than an opportunity for reunion- look it up if you don't believe me!)

Some might say that the whole idea is just and exercise in self-gratification. A bit of an ego-boost. Plain and simple navel-gazing. Perhaps there is a bit of that, but moreso: It's a great excuse to catch up with people from the past. Not to look backward, but forwards. You see, remembering again where I've come from somehow excites me for the future - and renews my confidence that it will be good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.