First lamb

Here is the first lamb born on the farm this spring with its proud (and pretty defensive-looking, I might add!) Mum. It was actually born about a week ago, but has been elusive! This is the only photo I took today and it isn't perfect, but it will do.

My littlest lamb isn't doing so great right now at night. Ophelia has gone from sleeping 12 hours straight every night at two months, to being up 4 or 5 times a night now. Last night it was every 60 - 90 minutes. Luckily I'm not too tired so far, maybe because she usually settles down quickly after a little pat on the back or especially if she's lifted and given a few minutes' cuddle. I try to avoid lifting her too much though, as that could become a need/expectation for her in itself, I suppose.

I've got various theories.

I've been told this is a prime time for the biggest growth spurt of all between 14 - 20 weeks, but she doesn't seem hungry when she wakes up, so I haven't been feeding her between 11pm and 7am. She's also a real sicky-head, so extra feeds usually make her spew more.

Another theory that has come up is that she is going through a spell of 'wonder weeks', where she's developed so quickly that life has changed completely and it is hard for her to switch off and process things. True, she's flipping over in all directions and is a lot more alert these days, but enough to be up so much? Not sure.

Of course there is good old teething that could be to blame. I know she is teething because of her constant dribbling, rosy red cheeks and the fact she practically swallows her whole fist given the chance. Often, a little bonjela or some teething granules have helped settle her almost immediately. I've resorted to ibuprofen or calpol some nights, but don't like to use it too often or 'just in case'. Sometimes it has an effect; other times it doesn't. So I don't think that is the whole cause.

The latest theory I have is the dreaded reflux. Grace suffered terribly from it, so much so that she was medicated for over a year and was a thoroughly miserable baby much of the time in her early months. Ophelia, if anything, is even more sickly than Grace was, but it never seemed to bother her. Thinking back, I lowered the cot at one end from three blocks to two a few weeks ago and also when she moved from moses basket to cot, she was put in 'feet to foot' position, which is not at such a steep angle. Her best naps are ALWAYS in her car seat if we have been out anywhere. Plus, as I said, she settles instantly she is held upright and cuddled. So I've raised the cot again and will see how things go tonight.

Oops, I seem to have written an essay here, but I didn't get to see my gang of Yummy Mummies today - my usual confidantes - as I had no car to use, so it is useful to get this all off my chest and into writing. If you are still reading this - WELL DONE and THANK YOU!!! ;)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.