Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

On the Beach

We're in Vancouver again, and staying again at The Chocolate Lily, a very nice B&B just a five minute walk from Kitsilano Beach Park and twenty minutes from Granville Island.

When we walked down to the park, I saw two boats aground. I spoke to the owner of this one, the Tuesday Sunrise, to find out what happened. He told me that seven boats dragged their anchors in a storm six days ago -- the same day that the Washington State Ferry system was forced to cancel some runs. He'd been digging around the boat at low tides to try to free her. She was just starting to move as the tide came in.

I'll go back tomorrow to see if she's still there.

Edited on April 15th.
The Tuesday Sunrise was still on the beach at low tide, but a large Caterpillar front-loader had been digging out the sand on the lower side. The Caterpillar was dragging the other beached boat, Karanga-lita around so that her bow was toward the water.

It was time for us to return to the US. I'll put a few photos in my Blipfolio later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.