DaveH

By DaveH

Shakespeare's Birthday

Mum was an English teacher, a great lover of Shakespeare. Possibly because of that, I tended to rebel against reading "classic" English Literature when I was growing up. Anyway, my first love was always science.

I do have an insatiable reading habit, though, and I have a congenital inability to ignore grammatical and spelling errors (not as bad as MAiT, mind, and by the Law of Sod, there will be at least one speling misteak in this journal entry).

Eventually, probably bored and desperate for something to read in my mid-twenties, I started reading Shakespeare, Austen, Dickens and so on. Blow me down! They were brilliant! Who'd ever have guessed?

Every time I am picking up a skull in the course of my work, some joker will quote "Alas, poor Yorik..." at me :) I'm sure Willy the Shake must have talked to a gravedigger for some of the dialogue; it's all accurate about how long a body will last in the earth, and the gravedigger happily chucking about skulls of folk he'd buried not 15 years earlier.


Well, the photo is of me and Mum. Today would also have been her 80th birthday.
Miss you. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.