schlimm

By schlimm

Edible leaves

Actually I don't even know if the leaves are meant to be edible but a long time ago when I used to walk to my Kindergarten there was this hedge on the way and we always used to pick the leaves and eat them. When out with my kids the other day I showed them and tasted one for the first time in a long time and it still had the same sour vinegary taste from a long time ago. A sort of Proustian Madeleine Moment really...I wonder why I hadn't tried it again before. But I suppose with my kids going to school and kindergarten now I'm thinking about me at that time again more often, trying to understand their actions etc.

A went for her first swimming lesson today and she did not get any further than the top step of the ladder and then clung to the side of the pool. She's usually the brave one, the one who dares but this time she couldn't. Even when I tried to help by holding on to her she still just wanted to get out of the pool and she would not go back in, not even at the shallow end.

Well, it had been a bit of a baptism of fire for her, with L we could at least take her to Warrenders every so often but now with Warrenders being repaired and the Commonwealthpool being refurbished there are just not so many options for people without a car living where we live.

Her spirits were still quite high though and she is already making plans how to get in next time, possibly with the help of L and all her friends in the water making it easier for A to get in the water. Meanwhile I will take A tomorrow to a birthday party where we will get the use of the pool while L parties as a superhero for one of her classmates 6th birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.