The old ones...

...are the oldest, as I said to the Boss this morning, when he told year 9, just before an exam "May the Fourth be with you". Most of them looked bemused. We just shook our heads, and laughed - AT HIM, not with him. God love him.

What was I thinking when I VOLUNTEERED to be the first one in the new classroom where I will be videoed teaching a lesson tomorrow. 4 web cams - nowhere to hide. Sound - best not swear. Tactical class choice - 10Y2. If they are good, great. If one or two are giddy kippers - GREAT- SMILE KIDS, YOU'RE ON CANDID CAMERA, and when you say "I didn't do anything" I can prove otherwise! Teehee. Clearly, that is not the purpose of the room. The room is to be used as a mechanism for observing teaching and learning, and providing an opportunity to coach based on the lesson. As always, believing that I should do what everyone else is being asked to do, I'm getting in there first. Partly to get it over with (I am not kidding when I tell you I woke up at least 5 times last night worrying about it), partly because I have never seen myself teach and I am intrigued, and partly because opportune timing means I can actually deliver a lesson tomorrow without the need for my computer room.

Am tempted to run around the classroom a bit before hand, and then get the footage and speed it up, with the Benny Hill music on it. Just for fun of it, mind.

Things are clearer now - my fuzzy headed mixed up silliness from last week has passed. I have made decisions. I briefly unmade them, but now I am clear about what I am doing. Amazing how things suddenly start to flow when you make a decision and stick to it. Cryptic...maybe some news in the not too distant future...we'll let fate have a hand in that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.