Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Baby Birds

Another 6am start for me this morning - although we have my blackout blind, there are two windows in my room and Dad's attempts to cover the second one with a blanket haven't been 100% effective.

It was very cold today - it had even been snowing on some of the higher ground overnight! We decided to do a drive rather than a walk, so headed over tothe north-eastern side of the island. We stopped in Uig and had some cake -Mum had lemon drizzle and Dad had carrot - my favourite is carrot. I had been very moany in the car, so much so that Mum came in the back with me to try and keep me amused. But it was because I was hungry, what with getting up half an hour earlier than normal. After I'd had my share of Mum and Dad's cake and a box of raisins, I fell fast asleep. Mum and Dad saw lots of amazing things while I was sleeping. I don't mind missing them - I'd rather have my sleep!

I woke up as we were heading towards Portree, where we stopped for lunch. I got a new pair of wellies in Portree - they look like ladybirds! Dad got very confused as he thought I kept saying baby birds, even when there were no birds around. Eventually Mum worked out that I meant my new wellies. Our last stop was the supermarket, and I enjoyed walking around it in my new wellies enormously. I picked up a packet of treat-sized Buttons and put them in the basket and because we're on holiday, Mum didn't put them back on the shelf. I'm looking forward to those - yum!

When we got home we met Neil, who lives next door and owns the cottage. He was out feeding the pigs, so he brought them over to say hello to me. One of them is called Harry Campbell - isn't that a funny name for a pig?! His dog Tan was there too - she is very friendly and full of energy. She is a sheep dog, but instead of rounding up sheep she rounds up the pigs. Neil says that secretly she's a bit scared of the pigs. Mum told me that pigs say oink oink, but these ones don't, they squeal!

Hiya Pigs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.