Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Fairy Pools

Apart from a wee cry about 10.30 last night, when Mum had to come up and put my dummy back in, I slept right through the night without waking! And as another bonus, the sun came back out today. So we went got to do our walk to the Fairy Pools after all. It was worth the wait - the pools were deep and clear and turquoise blue, with waterfalls pouring into them, all against the backdrop of the Cuillin. I can see why the fairies live around these pools! Mum let me walk to the edge of one (on a safe bit where she could keep a close eye on me) and do some splashing in a little pool of water and then (this was the
best bit) throw some stones into the water. It tired me out though, and on the way back down the hill I was telling Dad that it was time for a sleep.

When I woke up, Gran, Papa, Auntie Katie and Uncle Scott were there! I was a bit confused for a while, but I soon came round. We met them in the car park in Kyleakin and watched some people out in the water on kayaks. They were doing something called "eskimo rolls", which involved turning upside down in the water. I didn't think this was right, and every time someone did it I said oh dear. We set off in the car again (which I wasn't happy about) to Kylerhea and did another walk through the forest down to something called a hide, where we looked out for things through binoculars. We saw a pair of golden eagles, some cormorants, lots of gulls, oystercatchers and some seals! There was a very long drive home after that, but I had Gran in the back with me and we sang along to my nursery rhymes CD. Once we got back to the cottage I showed everyone around, including my favourite bit, bumping down the stairs. What a very exciting day.

Mum and I had a conversation today, in the car at lunchtime. It went along these lines:

Mum opens a Twix.

Me: A bit peese.

Mum: Okay, here's a bit.

I take the Twix off her and hold it away, we have a bit of a struggle over the Twix and Mum takes it off me. I burst out crying.

Mum: Orla, you can't eat it all. You have to learn to share.

Me: I'm sad.

Mum: You're sad?

Me: Is it alright?

Mum: Yes, it's alright.

I give Mum a kiss and everything is okay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.