Bendy madness

Been to London. Bendy Pendolino train. First Class. Wifi, free tea and coffee. Ace. A slight problem at first - the train had a cracked windscreen so we had to travel from Warrington to Crewe at slow speed, then transfer onto a new train at Crewe. Not been to Crewe Railway station for about 18 years - not since I worked there in the Cafe on Platform 6. Those were the days - the drunks coming in at 11pm when the bar was shut (before 24 hour licensing) and demanding a can of Skol! Nice.

Had a lovely day putting the world to rights with my new friend. All is well! Got a bit wet (glad to see that it doesn't just rain on us Northern Monkeys) but was so happy to be there that it didn't matter. Bits of banter with interesting people along the way today as well - smiles from strangers makes the world feel just that little bit of a happier place.

Walked about a gazillion miles around London, including a quick visit to St Paul's "WOW" (no photography though - boo).

We were lucky enough to see this guy as he started setting up for a street performance in Covent Garden. Ex Cirque du Soleil. Awesome. Bendy. Fearless (or so it seemed), just fabulous and a great 15 minutes with lots of photos. I didn't have my blipfoto cards - so I had to give him my journal address on an old receipt! Nice. Probably thinks I am a complete fruit loop.

Bendy madness

Tea and carrot cake at Euston station, dive bombed by kamikaze pigeons outside whilst having a ciggie, then boarded the train and came home.

Great. Quite a decadent and unusual decision for me to travel all that way just for an afternoon. But it was fabulous and I had a smashing time.

So to my friend - thanks chuck ;-) Next time I come to stay and we drink wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.