Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Encouraging Mail

We told some friends at church last Sunday about "Bob dog" and then yesterday we pulled this envelope from the mailbox and discovered this wonderful card and handwritten letter.

I apologize to all my blipfriends -- everyone has got to be so tired of our "state of mind" (we are). I'll completely understand if blippers don't stop at my journal currently. The roller-coaster here has not run out of fuel and we're still having our ups and downs. The distractions of life have been convenient, like the conference I attended this week and the commencement ceremony yesterday. It is the returning to a car with no "Bob" dog waiting there or returning home and he's not here; it's the lack of anyone at home needing us. All of that sounds so crazy, so screwed-up -- what's wrong with us.

As I walked away from graduation yesterday my good friend Dr. Arend Flick looked at me and said, "You've got to write about it to help you get through this." So I have been and I am. I'm thankful for this page and a place to just spill some of what we're feeling.

And another "sympathy" card arrived in the mail today. Friends and our blip community have all been so understanding and encouraging. How do people live without friends?

Then one more special thing happened. A caring friend sent this email about Pinkey the cat . . . looking at that email was a good moment of laughter for both of us, and we haven't laughed much lately.

Hey, it's Friday. I don't have any papers to grade. Woohoo! We are on the threshold of summer.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.