Picture frame

Lazy afternoon. Everyone gone, save me. Goodbye to Katie, and Luke, and Marshall and all the students.

All quiet now. Laying in the sunshine on the floating dock. Alternating between swimming and floating on my back in the middle of the lake. Seperated by earth and sky by 80 feet of water and the deep dark kettle holes formed by the glaciers. Blue sky and big poof ball clouds and the water. Dreamy.

I miss Katie. Already on her way back to Vermont and then to Nicaragua for her research. Almost finished my book; Wendel Berry and the Unsettling of North America. And me, I've all gone to wild seed, tan as a polynesian, field clothed like Huck Finn, and bearded like a mountain man.

I'm experimenting with this matted old picture look. It was a picture perfect day after all. In the evening Dave took me out to dinner at one of the nearby towns to say thanks. Its good to feel appreciated and part of this community of good people.

Now that the whirlwind has passed its time to unwind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.