David's Blips

By drl

The Road to Nowhere

We seemed to be on the remotest road in the world today. It went on forever and ever and we passed nothing for about three hours.

In Scotland I wouldn't think twice about being on such a quiet track. In the USA it was a little more nerving, especially to begin with. What would happen if we broke down? I've never had to change a tyre before, would I be up to the job? I suppose we could phone for help... no... wait... no phone signal on either of our phones.

Thankfully our Ford Focus hire car is holding out exceptionally well, even if we have just gone and quadrupled the mileage on it. And eventually I really started to enjoy the back roads, much more fun than the Interstates. I am constantly keeping one eye on the fuel gauge. I have a rule, once it reaches half way, we stop at the next gas station. We don't want to be running dry out here.

We eventually arrived at Custer State Park. Maybe the most beautiful place in the world. Where Buffalo stop you from driving to say hello and deer hop out in the most unusual of places, all in an area with views that will leave you speechless.

We head up to Yellowstone at the weekend. I imagine it will be even better than Custer, if that's even possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.