a better fate than wisdom

By abetterfate

My First Time

Since my train west was going through Chicago, I decided to stay over one night and catch a Cubs game. No, I'm not a huge Cubs fan or anything (I'm more of an American League guy), but I do enjoy baseball and I definitely enjoy old baseball stadiums. Wrigley and Fenway are really the only two stadiums left from the early 20th century (since they tore down old Yankees Stadium a couple years ago), so I figured I should go to see them while they are still standing. I hit Wrigley today (and watched the Cubs beat the Phillies) -- coming back east I'll hit Fenway.

Out in front of the stadium, I saw some die-hard Cubs fans playing some big-band music to get the crowd excited. Since my dad is a tuba player, I had to snap this picture for him. (If you look very carefully, you can actually see me reflected in the bell of the tuba, though I'm upside-down. I'm wearing a light blue shirt.)

Wrigley itself was great. There's one thing that Wrigley has that makes it particularly beautiful, and there's one thing it lacks that makes it particularly beautiful. It has ivy on the outfield wall; it lacks a jumbo-tron TV screen on the scoreboard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.